Share the secrets!

Eating titbits in Barcelona – Mercat de la Boqueria

Last week I was at the Mercat de la Boqueria and as soon as I entered the old market hall, lovely designed with glass and iron, I knew I am going to tell you about it. I love to forage through the stands, trying different food and buy some fresh smoothies (for only 1,00€!). Meet the food market in Barcelona and get to know all I love about it..and all I dislike!

Foto-4

I love food. I admire fresh-quality fruits or vegetables and am crazy about good meat or fish. To stay simple: I do attach importance to fresh, local and tasty food. It‘s great and where can you find it? At the local food market, of course! In Barcelona we have the Mercat de la Boqueria next to the city center. It is a market hall with lots of stands, offering different goodies. Mercat de la Boqueria (opened 1840 and) is similar to the Vienna Naschmarkt or the Borough market in London. However, they are different because every country has it own gastronomic specialties. In Barcelona you will find a lot of chocolate, fish, spanish ham, fruits and vegetables. The spanish people are very proud of their spanish ham (jamon) and they make a lot of different things out of it. Same with fruits! They make really fresh smoothies and some fruit-cups to take away. But watch out! The market is a real tourist attraction and there are always lots of people. Sometimes you can‘t even move and you can be pickpocket easily. So when you are there, watch your purse.

Oh & by the way: My favorite is the Strawberry-Coconut Smoothie. It is soooooooo delicious and you can even taste the freshness! You can get one for only 1,00€ and when I am at La Rambla, I always call at the market and buy a smoothie to go. It‘s a vitamin-injection! I looove it! Please promise me to try one when you are here! If you are also a little gourmet or just want to experience Barcelona by tasting it, you should definitively check it out. Please comment about your opinion or send me photos when you are there.

IMG_5611

IMG_5579

IMG_5578

IMG_5609

IMG_5589

IMG_5590

IMG_5581

IMG_5582

IMG_5607

IMG_5595

 

 

This entry was published on 22. August 2014 at 22:30. It’s filed under Barcelona, Eat & Drink and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Eating titbits in Barcelona – Mercat de la Boqueria

  1. Pingback: Barcelona Guide | Carrer de meer

Comment here

