Share the secrets!

Magic Fountain Of Montjuïc Show

IMG_5864

What a beautiful performance…The light show of the Magic fountains. Water, colors and music mixed up to a great spectacle in the middle of Bacelona. You will not experience that elsewhere so when you visit Barcelona, this is a absolute MUST GO. Here are some of my impressions.

I got this picture in my head…Gigantic fountains changing colors, lots of people and loud music. Yes, I was here a long time ago. I was here with my parents when I was a kid and I remember being really impressed by that spectacle. Now I am here again. 10 years later – without my parents. I am living in Barcelona and last week I was watching the magic fountain performance once again. There were thousands of people. Many (many) tourist and that‘s why this is also the perfect place for thiefs (so watch your purse!). I was watching the show from the side because I hate being in between so many people. It makes me feel insecure and scares me. The show was…well, “magical”. Although I hate it being somewhere so crowdy, I loved the show. Standing in front of that beautiful castle, listening to operatic music and watching a great fountain spectacle…WOW. To me it was a great feeling. Something like “completely lost in the moment” and “what a great beauty in this world”.The Magic Fountain was designed by catalan architect, engineer and author Carles Buigas. He described the illuminated water fountains as a new style of art, art of agualuz and created the Magic Fountains of Montjuic for the International Exposition in Barcelona in 1929. Yes, this truly is an expression of art. I recommend everyone visiting Barcelona to watch this kind of art (video on youtube). Really, you have to see that one time! You will not be disappointed, I promise. Please scroll down for the performance times, so you don’t miss the musical show!

IMG_5840 IMG_5830 IMG_5831 IMG_5833 IMG_5838 IMG_5841 IMG_5851 IMG_5857 IMG_5861

Going there by metro or bus? You have to go to “Plaza de Espana”

Magic Fountain Of Montjuïc Performance Times
30 April – 30 September:
Thursday – Sunday, 21:00 – 23:30
Musical displays: 21:00, 21:30, 22:00, 22:30 and 23:00

01 October – 30 April:
Fridays and Saturdays, 19:00 – 21:00
Christmas and Easter:
Thursday – Sunday, 19:00 – 21:00
Musical displays: 19:00, 19:30, 20:00 and 20:30

This entry was published on 3. September 2014 at 11:41. It’s filed under Barcelona and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Magic Fountain Of Montjuïc Show

  1. Pingback: Barcelona Guide | Carrer de meer

  2. Oh my… this makes me missing Barcelona so much right now! You lucky girl living there… :D
    and: amazing blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wwow, it looks like such a beutiful place!
    xx
    Grace
    http://www.rondademate.wordpress.com/

    Like

Comment here

